Skip to main content

Create, edit, and delete roles

Roles control what users can see and do on your account. They can be applied to individual users or to all members of a team.

Each role includes a set of permissions. Permissions provide the user or team members with different levels of access to areas of the product. Learn more about individual permissions.

Here's an example of the kind of roles you might have on your account:

  1. Compliance officer: Providing full access to all profiles and product applications but no access to the Billing section.

  2. Institution admin: Providing full access to the Billing section but no access to profiles and product applications.

Create a role

To create a role:

  1. Go to User Management > Roles.

  2. Select New role. The Add new role page is displayed.

    Add new role page
  3. Write the role's name in the Role name field.

  4. To provide a short description of the role, write it in the Role description field. If you leave this field blank, the description is displayed as No description provided.

  5. To add permissions to the role, select a permission to expand it, then select the type of access you’d like to enable, for example, Read-only or Read and write. By default, no permissions are granted. Learn what users can do with each permission.

    Selecting access type for Reports permissions
  6. Select Add new role. The role is displayed in the list of roles to the left. If you have Read and write access for the Manage users permission, you can assign the role to users and team members.

Edit a role

To edit a role:

  1. Go to User Management > Roles.

  2. Select the role you’d like to edit.

  3. To change the name, update the Role name field.

  4. To change the description, update the Role description field.

  5. To change permissions, select a permission to expand it, then select the type of access you’d like to enable, for example, Read-only or Read and write. Learn what users can do with each permission.

  6. Select Save changes. The role is updated. If you modified the permissions, users and team members see the changes immediately.

If a user or team member doesn’t see changes to their permissions, ask them to refresh their browser.

Delete a role

Roles can only be deleted if they're not assigned to any users.

To delete a role:

  1. Go to User Management > Users and remove the role from all users who have it assigned to them.

    User page with mouse hovering over the option to remove a user role.

    The number of users with the role assigned to them is displayed next to the role’s name in the Roles section. This must be displayed as 0 users before the role can be deleted.

    User management_Role with multiple users
  2. Go to User Management > Roles and select the role you’d like to delete.

  3. Select Delete role. A confirmation dialog is displayed.

    Delete role confirmation dialog.
  4. Select Delete role. The role is removed from the list of roles and can no longer be assigned to users.

If the Delete role button is disabled, one or more users have the role assigned. Remove the role from the users, then repeat the steps to delete the role.

Additional information