Request from customer

Use the Request from customer button to send an email request to the customer and ask them to complete a form or upload a document for a check.

Which tasks have the button? This is set up in the task configuration. Contact your account administrator to learn more about your configuration. If you're an administrator who would like to add a Request from customer button, contact our Support team.

Submit a customer request

  1. Go to a task with a Request from customer button.
  2. Click Request from customer. If there is more than one request you can send for that task, select the one you would like to use. Only one request per task can be sent to the customer at once.

    A Send request button is displayed under the profile name.
  3. If you would like to request documents associated with more tasks, go to those tasks and click Request from customer.
  4. Click Send request. The Configure and send request dialog is displayed, with your document requests listed at the top.
Only one request email can be sent to the customer at a time, so it's a good idea to ensure the request you're sending now includes all the form(s) and/or document(s) you plan to ask for.
To remove a document request, click Remove. To add more requests, click Close, then go to the relevant task(s) and click Send request again.
  1. If the profile has an email address in their Profile data, it's displayed in Recipient email address. If there's no recipient email address, add one.
  2. The default email body copy is displayed in Recipient message. Optionally, you can customise this text.
The email subject line, title, and sender address are also determined by your configuration. Contact your account administrator to learn more.
  1. Click Send request. The following happens:
    1. The customer receives an email with a link to take them to the webpage where they can complete the form(s) and/or upload their document(s).
    2. The profile's Audit log is updated with a new Forms item to show the request has been sent.
    3. The profile's application status becomes Waiting for customer.
  2. After the customer adds their information, it's imported directly to the task. If the information is a document for a check, the check is run automatically.
Why is the Forms item used for the Audit log when the customer uploads a document? All customer requests, including requests to upload documents for checks, are configured via forms.

What customers experience

When you send a request to a customer, they'll receive an email that contains a button prompting them to update their information.

The email will have the layout above, but the colours, logo, and text will be customised for your company.
The button link remains valid for 30 days after the email is sent.

When the customer clicks the button, they're redirected to a webpage with one section for every document and/or form you've requested.

If the link has expired, you've cancelled the request, or the customer has already completed the request, the page they're redirected to says This request has expired.

To complete a section, they should click it and add their information as prompted.

When they've completed all sections, they can click Finish. When they click it, they'll see a notification that says "Data successfully submitted".

It is not possible for customers to save their progress, but they can restart at any time.

Cancel a customer request

To cancel a request you've submitted to the customer:

  1. Go to the task of the request. A customer request banner is displayed at the top.
  2. Click Cancel request.
The customer will still have the old email request in their inbox. If they try to follow the link in it, they'll see a message saying, "This request has expired."

Send a new customer request

If the link in the request email has expired or if the request has been cancelled, you can send a new customer request by clicking the Request from customer button again.

It is not possible to send new customer requests while there are any requests outstanding. If you would like to send a customer request, locate the task(s) with outstanding requests and cancel the other requests.
You can also check the profile's Audit report to see which customer requests have been sent. Requests are logged as Forms items.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)