Manage applications

When you view a profile, you can see all the information about the applicant and take action on their product applications.

See who is applying to the product

You can see all information about the applicant and any documents that have been gathered in Profile data.

To add or edit profile data, click the Edit button.

You may want to check Conversations, too, to see if your team has left any comments about the profile.

Find out the current status of their applications

The Application overview shows all applications that the profile has made.

Applications can be in any of these stages:

  • Onboarding: This stage begins as soon as the application is created, and continues until the applicant is either approved to use the product or their application is rejected. During this stage, the applicant is undergoing due diligence. A series of dues diligence tasks are created (e.g. to verify the applicant's identity or bank account) which will need to be passed for the application to be approved.
  • Monitoring: The monitoring stage starts as soon as the applicant is approved to use the product and becomes a customer. During this time, the customer is monitored to see if they no longer meet the requirements of any of the due diligence tasks or if the risk level of the application changes (which may mean additional due diligence tasks need to be completed).
  • Rejected or cancelled: A rejected or cancelled application means the applicant or customer is not authorised to use the product. If the application was in the onboarding stage, it is rejected. If the application was in the monitoring phase, it is cancelled. Either decision can be reverted.

If your company is using Risk, the risk level indicates what kind of risk the application poses to your company (e.g. Low risk, Medium risk, High risk). Typically, a higher risk level means that the profile will need to pass more due diligence tasks for their application to be approved.

If the risk level is Undetermined, more information is required before the risk can be calculated. To see which information is missing, go to the application and click Manage risk score.

Choose the application you want to work on and click the application name.

The Required tasks show what due diligence is required for the application.

  • When the task has passed, it has this icon:
  • When the task has failed, it has this icon:
  • When the task is incomplete, it has this icon:

All tasks need to be passed for the application to be approved.

You can reject tasks at any time to indicate the applicant hasn't met the due diligence criteria, and reject their application.

Navigate between tasks using the application page or using the left navigation.

If the profile has more than one application, the left navigation shows tasks for all open applications by default, but you can use the drop-down menu to see tasks for a specific application.

Below the required tasks on the application page is Recent activity, which shows what action happened on the application, like if a task was completed or a team member left a note on a task.

If you want to see the audit log of everything that happened on the profile, visit the Audit log from the left navigation.

Why couldn't the application be approved/rejected automatically? The application's processing state indicates what needs to happen for the application to progress to the next stage. For example, Requires risk score indicates more profile data is required to calculate the risk score. See the full list of application processing states.
Why are some tasks completed already? This can be because someone else completed the task manually or because the task was completed automatically according to the product's smart policy. Check the recent activity to see when and why tasks were completed.
A task was completed but is now incomplete. What happened? Tasks can become incomplete for any of these reasons: a) A new PEPs, sanctions, or adverse media match is found; b) A user marks a task as incomplete manually; c) The task expires; d) A company associate's application is in review.
Why was a new task added to the application? Further due diligence can be required for applicants for many reasons. For example, new profile data may have been added or changed, or the risk level may have changed. The product's smart policy determines when tasks are added.

Complete any open tasks

When you go to a task, there are three things that will help you understand what's happened so far:

  1. The Task status, at the top of the task, shows whether the task has been passed, failed, or is still incomplete.
  2. Below this, you can see whether any checks were run (e.g. an Electronic identity check or Document verification check) and the results. Note that for some tasks, you may see a form instead of check results.
  3. Task notes, at the bottom of the task, is where you and members of your team can leave comments and add files.

The actions you take on a task depends on the nature of the task as well as your company’s compliance policy.

You might:

  • Review information obtained from checks or run more checks. Learn how.
  • Complete a task form.
  • Upload files (e.g. a PEP declaration form) to the Task notes.
  • Record conversations or actions that took place outside of PassFort by adding a note to the Task notes.

To complete the task, click Mark task as complete and select Passed or Failed.

To mark a passed or failed task as incomplete, click Task Pass or Task Failed.

When you follow these steps, you have the option to leave a note explaining your decision.

Learn which task types you might see.
Want to work faster? Select Passed + move to next task to mark the task as passed and jump to the next incomplete task. If all tasks are complete, the Applications section of the profile is displayed so you can approve the application.

Approve or reject the application

If you think the applicant should have access to your product, approve the application.

If you think the applicant should not, reject the application.

To approve or reject an application, select the application name from the left navigation, then click Review application. Get the full steps to approve an application.

Note that you can only approve an application when all tasks are passed.

Why was the application approved or rejected automatically? An application may be approved or rejected automatically according to the product's smart policy. For example, your smart policy may be configured to approve the task automatically as soon as all tasks have passed. Check the application's recent activity to see when and why it was approved or rejected.
Not ready to approve or reject the application? If the application needs another pair of eyes, you can assign it to a colleague or a team. To do so, select the application name from the left navigation and click the button that says Unassigned or Assigned to. The colleague or team members will receive a notification to let them know the application's with them.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)